• If you are citizen of an European Union member nation, you may not use this service unless you are at least 16 years old.

  • Finally, you can manage your Google Docs, uploads, and email attachments (plus Dropbox and Slack files) in one convenient place. Claim a free account, and in less than 2 minutes, Dokkio (from the makers of PBworks) can automatically organize your content for you.



Page history last edited by Brendan Woodroff 8 months ago

The 35th Annual Jack Taylor Memorial Chess Tournament
 6 round Swiss CFC Quick Rated

Oct. 24-25, 2020











Pre-Registered List:

When: 24-25 October 2020
Where:   chess.com

Rounds:  Saturday 24 Oct at 12 pm, 2 pm and 4 pm;    Sunday 25 Oct at 12pm, 2 pm, and 4 pm  Pacific Standard Time

Time Control: Game/30 + 15 sec increment
Sections:  Premier and U1400.   Play-up allowed if CFC/FIDE/USCF/FQE rating is above 1200.  Extra fee $20.   

Rating: CFC Quick rated.  
Prizes: Trophies
1st place, U1700, U1400, U900.  Tie-break for trophies: direct encounter, buchholz (sum of opponents’ scores), average rating of opponents
Entry Fee: $20.  Any surplus, after expenses will be donated to the BC Chess Foundation
Registration:    Online  Registration will close at 12:00 noon on Thursday October 22
Contact:  Paul Leblanc  pc-leblanc@shaw.ca

CFC membership required.  BC residents annual fee adult $38, junior $25.  Available from the CFC, or purchase with registration.  
 Alternatively, purchase a tournament membership $8 adult $4 junior with registration (good for this event only).
Players in this event are eligible for the COVID-19 rating bonus of up to 200 regular rating points (play at least 10 Quick rated games between
March 2020 and March 2021 and achieve a Quick rating 200 points higher than your Regular rating to get the 200 point Regular rating bonus).
For a biography of Jack Taylor see here:
Fair Play:
Games are subject to monitoring by chess.com anti-cheating software.
Players must abide by chess.com fair play rules.  That means no assistance from any source including chess engines, databases, books, notes,
other players, analysis on chess boards etc.  Decisions by chess.com regarding fair play are final.  
Be careful when making moves not to have a "mouse-slip" deposit a piece on the wrong square.  There is no way to take back an erroneous move.
It is possible to experience a temporary loss of internet connectivity on your computer.  This is generally your responsibility but if it persists inform
the TD.
Organizer: Victoria Chess (Paul Leblanc)
TD:  Brendan Woodroff


Message from Jack Taylor's family:

Thank you for letting me and our family know that this year’s Jack Taylor Memorial is proceeding with an online version.

I’m hoping next Fall we will all be back to enjoying everything we have had to give up this year because of the Corona Pandemic.


Good luck to all the participants from all of us.




Carole & Family


Previous Jack Taylor Memorials:


2019 Jack Taylor Memorial

2018 Jack Taylor Memorial

2017 Jack Taylor Memorial

2016 Jack Taylor Memorial

2015 Jack Taylor Memorial

2014 Jack Taylor Memorial

2013 Jack Taylor Memorial

2012 Jack Taylor Memorial

2011 Jack Taylor Memorial

2010 Jack Taylor Memorial

2009 Jack Taylor Memorial

2008 Jack Taylor Memorial

2007 Jack Taylor Memorial

2006 Jack Taylor Memorial

List of Previous Winners of the Jack Taylor Memorial (Thanks to Stephen Wright)


Comments (0)

You don't have permission to comment on this page.